Where I Go in My Dreams (Part 9)

In which The Author’s dream world extends

Last night my dream took me to a place I haven’t been to for a while. In fact, I’d almost forgotten about it. I first referred to it in Where I Go in My Dreams (Part 4.) I was in the village at the top of the hill, but the last few times I’ve been there I’ve found a very strange church there. If you can envisage the setup, it might give you an idea of what my dream world looks like.
I’m already in the village I’ve described previously, but the church is further along the road from the T-junction. It stands at the foot of quite a steep hill, with a minor road on either side, leading up and (presumably) into the next valley. It doesn’t look like any of the valleys churches I’ve photographed until now – in fact, it’s very different from any I’ve seen except St Dyfrig’s Church in Treforest.
It’s got a large rounded portico at the front, and for some reason there’s a statue of the Egyptian god Anubis outside. The statue tends to move around the place whenever I’m there, and last night it was actually on the roof. Its head seemed to turn and follow me as I walked around taking photographs. On a previous visit I went inside the church and found that it was virtually derelict, except for some ancient books which were piled up in a corner.
One of the minor roads is a bus route, and the bus has a hell of a job negotiating the steep hill from the top of the mountain. On the other minor road, for no apparent reason, there’s a large shop selling drawing stationery, art materials and drawing office equipment (rather like Copystat in Cardiff), and at least once I’ve gone in there to get my photos printed.
Last night I decided to follow one of the roads and came to a fairly busy town. My subconscious mind kept telling me that I was in Ynysybwl, but I knew consciously that I wasn’t. Anyway, there was an ugly 1960s block at the centre, with shops running off in three directions from a central atrium. I remember seeing some people sitting outside a café drinking coffee. The café was called Merrett’s (which is odd, because there was a Merrett’s in Aberdare when I was young) but I didn’t go inside. The rest of the shops sold a mixture of clothes, housewares, food, and the usual village centre staples. In the atrium itself there was a small queue of people buying tickets for a cinema, which appeared to be on the first-floor level.
At one point I consulted my map and found that I was at the centre of an elongated X, with a fair distance to walk until I reached Pontypridd by either of the bottom ‘legs.’ As I was on a bus route I decided to hang around and catch the bus back into Ponty. I took the camera for a stroll around, and found a very narrow tall church near a police station. I tried several times to get a decent photo of the church, but I couldn’t fit the whole thing into the shot. I carried on walking, and came to a quarry. Again, I tried taking photos, but then the dream segued into something completely different – a very bizarre London-based gang thriller, which lasted for ages until I finally woke up.
Please tell me if you've enjoyed this (or if you haven't.) Feel free to rate it, 'like' it, and/or leave a comment.

