Where I Go in My Dreams (Part 11)

In which The Author goes back to school

This isn’t necessarily a ‘place’ as such, but more of a general situation. Even before I embarked on a second attempt at University, I used to dream that I was in an exam room, and on the desk before me was a Maths paper. I’d done absolutely no revision, and a few times (in a semi-lucid dream state) I was fairly sure that I wasn’t even in the right exam. This was the background to this morning’s dream, only with some interesting twists and turns on the way.
I was cutting it fine to get there for the start of the exam, as I’d overslept and very nearly missed the train. I’d thrown on the first items of clothing which came to hand – which happened to be shiny black leggings, a sleeveless black poloneck, a red tartan mini-dress, and calf-length boots with flat heels. When I arrived at the campus (which was neither the University of Glamorgan nor Brunel, where I did my first first year), I got lost. This happens a lot when I’m dreaming about this place. I found myself in a large open courtyard surrounded by buildings of various heights and architectural styles. There were hundreds of people milling around, and I searched for a minute or so until I found a sign directing me to the right block.
I had to cut through the Library and up a couple of flights of stairs until I arrived at the right corridor. I walked into what I presume was the wrong room, as I didn’t recognise any of the other students already sitting there. The paper on the desk in front of me was a maths paper (as usual) and I didn’t have the foggiest idea where to start. The really bizarre part was that the invigilator was Laurie, my old boss from Dillons. He didn’t seem at all surprised to see me, and told me I’d made it just in time for the start.
Please tell me if you've enjoyed this (or if you haven't.) Feel free to rate it, 'like' it, and/or leave a comment.

