There’s Nothing to See

In which The Author issues an apology

You’re probably wondering what’s happened to the daily picture which I promised you at the end of last week, as my contribution to the Photo101 project. Well, I’m sorry to report that it never got past the starting post.
The idea of the Photo101 project was to check the organising blog every day, take a photo reflecting that day’s assignment, and then post it here. It seems easy enough, doesn’t it? The major problem is that I don’t have access to the Internet at home.
In fact, I only have access to the Internet at Aberdare Library about half the time – the frequent service outages which plagued me this time last year have returned in dramatic fashion. About a fortnight ago I emailed my local councillor, who is coincidentally the Mayor of Rhondda Cynon Taf this year, to inform her that the situation hadn’t improved since I last contacted her to report the problems. She replied quite promptly, telling me that she’d raised my complaint with the relevant department and that they were unaware of any service calls from Aberdare Library.
Since then, at least half a dozen calls have been logged by various members of staff. The last was placed at lunchtime today. I came in at about 11.00a.m., failed to connect after several attempts, went for a walk around town, and returned at about 12.30, to find that the wifi still wasn’t up and running. Another user and I reported the fault to the librarian, and after another hour or so we finally managed to get online.
The upshot of all this is that I didn’t get to see Monday’s assignment until quite late in the afternoon. I was in the pub at the time, using the wifi there as I knew it worked. Imagine my disappointment when I saw that the first topic for Photo101 was Home. I knew then that I was on a hiding to nothing. I would have had to return home, take a suitable ‘home’-themed photo, and then presumably returned to the pub in order to post it online. It was pissing down, and by the time I got home the last thing I wanted to do was venture out again.
Having missed out on Day One, I decided that there was no real point in trying to catch up yesterday. In the event, I didn’t stay online very long anyway. I didn’t even bother to check what yesterday’s subject was. I haven’t looked at today’s, either. It would be a waste of time. I’m afraid that you’ll just have to wait for the next batch of Endangered Buildings instead. I’m sure they’ll be along fairly soon.
Please tell me if you've enjoyed this (or if you haven't.) Feel free to rate it, 'like' it, and/or leave a comment.

