Another Email to the BBC

In which The Author is far from amused

Just to round up the recent flurry of Internet activity, I’ve sent the following email to Roger Bolton’s show Feedback on BBC Radio 4:
Hi Roger
I really didn’t think it was possible, but last night’s 6.30 Trodd en Bratt ‘comedy’ slot kicked My First Planet, Cabin Pressure and John Finnemore’s Souvenir Programme into dark realms previously undreamt of in Radio 4 circles.
I admit that I’m currently taking 45mg of Mirtazapine and 10mg of Amitryptiline, as well as (at least) 60mg of codeine per day. My GP is nice to me. Even when I’m as stoned as my medication allows, I failed to even crack a chuckle last night. Maybe you could send me two tickets for the studio recording, so that I can mainline whatever the audience is taking. After all, they were howling in delight at what wouldn’t have passed for original comedy at a student union party thirty years ago. To misquote the woman in When Harry Met Sally, I’ll have what they’re having!

My overall reaction was nicely summed up in the ‘pay-off’ line (apparently) to the coffee shop skit. Two words.

‘What did you think of the show so far?’

Shit.

‘What is your radio like now?’

Off.

I won’t be switching on again while I know that these talentless nobodies are on the air. Please don’t tell me that a second series has been commissioned, as the 6.30 comedy slot is sacrosanct. Radio 4 comedy is rapidly running out of steam and we can’t afford to surrender it to rubbish like this.
All the best
Steve O’Gorman
Not quite 49 years old and longing for clever witty humour…
Please tell me if you've enjoyed this (or if you haven't.) Feel free to rate it, 'like' it, and/or leave a comment.

